Liturgical Calendar Summary 2010

General Liturgical information for AD 2010

Liturgical Year for Ireland 2010 :
Sunday Cycle: C
Weekday Cycle: 2

Year for Priests– 19/06/09 – 29 /06/10
(150th anniversary of the death of St John Vianney, Curé of Ars)

The Theme for 2010 :  The Faithfulness of Christ, the faithfulness of the Priest

Liturgical Resources
For Daily and  Sunday’s  readings in Irish and English go to:  www.catholicireland.net
For Sunday Readings in several eastern and western European Languages go to: www.virc.at

Movable Feasts of the Liturgical Year 2009/2010
First Sunday of Advent  29 November 2009
Holy Family    27 December 2009
Baptism of Our Lord  10 January 2010
Ash Wednesday   17 February 2010
Easter Sunday   4 April 2010
The Ascension of the Lord  16 May 2010
Pentecost Sunday   23 May 2010
Holy Trinity    30 May 2010
Body and Blood of Christ  6 June 2010
The Sacred Heart of Jesus  11 June 2010
Christ the King   21 November 2010

Holydays of Obligation 2009/1010
Immaculate Conception  Tues 8 December 2009
The Nativity of the lord  Fri 25 December 2009
The Epiphany of the lord  Wed 6 January 2010
St Patrick    Wed 17 March 2010
Assumption of the BVM Sun 15 August 2010
All Saints    Mon 1 November 2010

Approved Liturgical Days of Prayer  2010
World Day of Peace    Fri, 1 Jan
World Day for Migrants and Refuges  Sun, 17 Jan
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity  begins Mon 18 Jan
Catholic Schools Week    begins Sun 31 Jan
World Day of Consecrated Life   Tuesday, 2 Feb
World Day for the Sick    Thursday, 11 Feb
Day of Prayer for Temperance   Sunday, 14 Feb
Day of Prayer for Vocations   Sunday, 25 April

Disclaimer

This 2010 Liturgical Calendar is not the work of any official Catholic office or representative but is in line with the Liturgical Calendar for Ireland as approved by the Irish Episcopal Conference. c/f www.veritas.ie

These pages are built on the standard guidelines of the Irish Church calendar but do not represent all the possible variants, as each individual Church, Diocese, Archdiocese, National Conference of Bishops has significant choice in the exact schedule of services. Please always check with your local Church for information concerning your area.